2016-2017 Year Academic Calendar

 

FALL TERM
27  June - 11 July 2016 Monday - Wednesday Early applications to graduate programs for the fall term
01 July - 19 August 2016 Friday- Friday Transfer, double major and minor applications for Fall Semester
05-06-07 July 2016  Tuesday - Thursday Ramadan Feast (04 July 2016 half-day shift)
11-22 July 2016 Monday - Tuesday Preregistrations for the Fine Arts, Design and Architecture Faculty Aptitude Test
13 July 2016 Wednesday Interviews for graduate programs (Master’s Degree)
14 July 2016 Thursday Interviews for graduate programs (PhD Degree)
15 July 2016 Friday Announcement of the results of early applications to graduate programs for the fall term, and transfer of the application documents together with the Steering Commitee Decision to the Registrar's Office 
18 July 2016 Monday English Proficiency Exam for the candidates who are accepted to fall term graduate programs
20 July 2016 Wednesday Announcement of English Proficiency Exam results of the candidates accepted to fall term graduate programs by the English Preparatory School 
20-27 July 2016 Wednesday - Wednesday Early registrations to graduate programs for the fall term
25 July 2016 Monday Fine Arts, Design and Architecture Faculty Aptitude Test
27 July 2016
Wednesday
Announcement of the results of the Fine Arts, Design and Architecture Faculty Aptitude Test
28 July - 01 August 2016 Thursday - Monday Registration of students admitted to the Fine Arts, Design and Architecture Faculty
01 - 05 August 2016 Monday - Friday Payment of the first installment of the tuition fees 
01-19 August 2016 Monday- Friday Applications to graduate programs for the fall term
08 - 19 August 2016 Monday - Friday Payment dates of the first installment of fined tuition fee
15-  19 August 2016  Monday - Friday Registrations of the newly admitted students
22 August 2016 Monday Submittal of transfer, double major and minor applications to Deans’ Offices by the Registrar’s Office for the fall term
30 August 2016 Tuesday Victory Day
01 September 2016 Thursday Interviews for graduate programs (Master’s Degree)
02 September 2016 Friday Interviews for graduate programs (PhD Degree)
02 September 2016 Friday Last day for the submittal of the results of transfer, double major and minor applications to the Registrar's Office by the Deans’ Offices
05 September 2016 Monday Announcement of the results of  applications to graduate programs for the fall term, and transfer of the application documents together with the Steering Commitee Decision to the Registrar's Office
05 September 2016 Monday Announcement of the results of transfer, double major and minor programs applications
06-09 September 2016 Tuesday - Friday Registration of the students placed by OSYM with additional placement
07-09 September 2016 Wednesday - Friday Registration of foreign students
08 September 2016 Thursday English Proficiency Exam (newly placed students by OSYM; transfer, double major, minor students; students aceepted at second period applications to graduate programs, and students failed at the English Preparatory School Spring Term and Summer School courses)
12-13-14-15 September 2016  Monday - Thursday Sacrifice Feast  (September 11, 2016 half-day shift)
19 September 2016 Monday Announcement of the results of the English Proficiency Exam of September 08, 2016
19 September 2016 Monday English Proficiency Exam for the students who are placed by OSYM at the additional placement
19-20 September 2016 Monday - Tuesday Registration of transfer students
19-20 September 2016 Monday - Tuesday Registrations to graduate programs for the fall term (late applications)
19-20 September 2016 Monday - Tuesday Course registrations and advisor approvals for the fall term (undergraduate and graduate)
19 September 2016 Monday  Orientation Day for undergraduate programs  
20 September 2016 Tuesday Announcement of the English Proficiency Exam results of the additional placement students  
21 September 2016 Wednesday Starting day of classes (undergraduate and graduate)
21 September 2016 Wednesday Starting day of the 1st  module classes in the English Preparatory School -  Orientation day 
28 September - 04 October 2016 Wednesday- Tuesday Add-Drop Period (undergraduate and graduate)
14 October 2016 Friday Last day for the announcement of midterm exams dates for the fall term
21 October 2016 Friday Last day for the submission of the Steering Committee decisions taken by Faculties/Graduate Schools with regard to add - drop transactions of the students whose excuses have been accepted to complete course registration or advisor approval
21 October 2016 Friday Last day for fall term leave of absence applications
29 October 2016 Saturday Republic Day  (October 28, 2016 half-day shift)
10 November 2016 Thursday Atatürk Commemoration Day
11 November 2016 Friday Last day of the 1st module classes in the English Preparatory School
18 November 2016 Friday Last day for the submittal of the courses to be offered in the spring term to the Registrar's Office
21 November 2016 Monday Starting day of the 2nd module classes in the English Preparatory School 
21-25 November 2016 Monday - Friday Applications for withdrawals
30 November 2016 Wednesday Last day for the submittal of thesis proposals in doctoral programs
22 December 2016 Thursday Last day of the appointment of graduate thesis supervisors  
26  December 2016 Monday Opening date of fall term student surveys in student information system
27 December 2016 Tuesday Last day of the classes (undergraduate and graduate programs) 
30 December 2016 Friday Last day for the submission of minutes and reports of thesis monitoring committee to the Directorates of Graduate Schools
30 December 2016 Friday Last day for Doctoral Qualification Exams
01 January 2017 Sunday New Year Holiday
02 - 14 January 2017 Monday - Saturday Final Exams (undergraduate and graduate programs)
13 January 2017 Friday Last day of the 2nd module classes in the English Preparatory School 
17 - 19 January 2017 Tuesday - Thursday Fall term make-up exams
19 January 2017 Thursday Last day for submitting the letter grades for the fall term courses (undergraduate and graduate programs)
20 January 2017 Friday Announcement of the letter grades and students’ standings on the SIS for the fall term (undergraduate and graduate programs)
23-24 January 2017 Monday - Tuesday Additional Exams
23 January 2017 Monday English Proficiency Exam (for undergraduate transfer, undergraduate and graduate students)
24  January 2017 Tuesday Closing date of fall term student surveys in student information system
27 January 2017 Friday Deadline for thesis defenses in graduate programs
27 January 2017 Friday Last day for submitting the letter grades for additional exams to the Registrar's Office
 27 January 2017 Friday Announcement of the results of the English Proficiency Exam by the English Preparatory School
30 January 2017 Monday Last day for the submittal of any correction in the letter grades given in the fall term by the Departments to the Registrar's Office
30 January 2017 Monday Starting day of the 3rd module classes in the English Prepearatory School
04 February 2017 Saturday Changing of the Incomplete (I) grades to FF or U
   
SPRING TERM
02-23 January 2017 Monday - Monday Applications to graduate programs for the spring term
02-23 January 2017 Monday - Monday Applications for transfer, double major and minor programs for the spring term  (to the Registrar's Office)
03 - 06 January 2017 Tuesday - Friday Payment of the second installment of the tuition fees 
09 - 20 January 2017 Monday - Friday Payment dates of the second installment of fined tuition fee
26 January 2017 Thursday Submittal of transfer, double major and minor applications to Deans’ Offices by the Registrar’s Office for the spring term
30 January 2017 Monday  Interviews for graduate programs (Master’s Degree)
31 January 2017 Tuesday Interviews for graduate programs (PhD Degree)
03 February 2017 Friday Announcement of the results of  applications to graduate programs for the spring term, and transfer of the application documents together with the Steering Commitee Decision to the Registrar's Office
06-07-08 February 2017 Monday - Wednesday Registrations to graduate programs for the spring term
06 February 2017 Monday Submittal of the results of transfer, double major and minor programs applications by the Deans' Offices to the Registrar's Office
07 February 2017 Tuesday Announcement of the results of transfer, double major and minor applications
08-10 February 2017 Wednesday -Friday Course registrations and advisor approvals for the spring term (undergraduate and graduate)
08-10 February 2017 Wednesday -Friday Registration of transfer, minor and double major program students
13 February 2017 Monday Starting day of classes for the spring term (undergraduate and graduate programs)
22-23-24 February 2017 Wednesday -Friday Add-Drop period (undergraduate and graduate programs)
03 March 2017 Friday Last day for the announcement of midterm exams dates for the spring term
10 March 2017 Friday Last day for the submission of the Steering Committee decisions taken by Faculties/Graduate Schools with regard to add - drop transactions of the students whose excuses have been accepted to complete course registration or advisor approval
10 March 2017 Friday Last day  for spring term leave of absence applications
24 March 2017 Friday Last day of the 3rd  module classes in the English Preparatory School
3 April 2017 Monday Starting day of the 4th module classes in the English Preparatory School 
17- 21 April 2017 Monday - Friday Last day for withdrawals
21 April 2017 Friday Last day for the submittal of the courses to be offered in the summer school to the Registrar's Office
23 April 2017 Sunday National Sovereignty and Children Day
01 May 2017 Monday Labor and Solidarity Day
15 May 2017 Monday Last day for the submittal of the courses to be offered in the fall term to the Registrar's Office
15 May 2017 Monday Opening date of the spring term student surveys in student information system
18 May 2017 Thursday Last day of the appointment of graduate thesis supervisors  
18 May 2017 Thursday Last day of the classes (undergraduate and graduate programs)
19 May 2017 Friday Commemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day
22 May - 03 June 2017 Monday - Saturday Final exams (undergraduate and graduate programs)
31 May 2017  Wednesday Last day of Doctoral Qualification Exams
05-07 June 2017 Monday-Wednesday Spring term make-up exams
08 June 2017 Thursday Last day for submitting the letter grades for the spring term courses (undergraduate and graduate programs)
09 June 2017 Friday Last day of the 4th  module classes in the English Preparatory School
09 June 2017 Friday Announcement of the letter grades and students’ standings on the SIS for the spring term (undergraduate and graduate programs)
13 June 2017 Tuesday Closing date of the spring term student surveys in student information system
13-14 June  2017 Tuesday - Wednesday Additional Exams
16 June  2017 Friday Last day for submitting the letter grades for additional exams to the Registrar's Office
19 June 2017 Monday English Proficiency Exam
19 June 2017 Monday Last day for the submittal of any correction in the letter grades given in the spring term by the Departments to the Registrar's Office
23 June 2017 Friday Announcement of the results of the English Proficiency Exam by the English Preparatory School
23 June 2017 Friday Graduation ceremony
24 June 2017 Saturday Changing of the Incomplete (I) grades to FF or U
25-26-27 June 2017 Sunday - Tuesday Ramadan Feast (June 24,  2017 half-day shift)
30 June 2017  Friday Last day for the submittal of thesis proposals in doctoral programs
30 June 2017 Friday Last day for the submission of minutes and reports of thesis monitoring committee to the Directorates of Graduate Schools
14 July 2017 Friday Deadline for thesis defenses in graduate programs
   
SUMMER SCHOOL
   
12 - 19  June 2017 Monday - Monday Dates for the payment of tuition fees for the summer school and course registrations in the English Preparatory School (Modules)
19 June 2017 Monday Starting day of classes for the summer school in English Peparatory School  (Modules)
28 - 30  June 2017 Wednesday - Friday Payments of summer school tuition fees for English Preparatory School (Pro)  and course registrations in undergraduate and graduate programs
03 July 2017 Monday Starting day of classes for the summer school (undergraduate and graduate programs) and English Preparatory School (Pro)
11 August 2017 Friday Last day of the classes (undergraduate and graduate programs)
15 August 2017 Tuesday Last day for submitting the letter grades for the summer school courses 
16 August 2017 Wednesday Announcement of the letter grades and students’ standings on the SIS for the summer school (undergraduate and graduate programs)
16 August 2017 Wednesday Last day of the classes in the English Preparatory School
21 -22 August 2017 Monday - Tuesday Additional exams
24 August 2017 Thursday Last day for submitting the letter grades for additional exams to the Registrar's Office
24 August 2017 Thursday  English Proficiency Exam for the summer school
28 August 2017 Monday Announcement of the results of the English Proficiency Exam for the summer school
30 August 2017 Wednesday Victory Day
31 August 2017 Thursday Changing of the Incomplete (I) grades to FF or U in summer school